General Information

Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the gun is to be used.

Generally, laws require the following:

  • Permits to buy handguns in North Carolina can be obtained from the county sheriff (or, in 10 counties, the clerk of superior court). In Union County it is the Sheriff's Office. The Cost is $5.00.
  • Gun purchase permit applications must be completed online and will be processed on normal business days (Monday-Friday 6:00 AM-8:00 PM). Click the "Let's get Started" button to apply for a permit.


The Union County Sheriff’s Office offers this online service as a convenience and courtesy to the community. In addition to the per permit fee of $5.00, the system will charge a per transaction fee for the convenience of applying and paying for your permits online. The convenience fee is not collected by the Sheriff. This fee is paid to the company that provides this order, payment and processing system to the public and the payment of this fee is solely between the applicant and the company.

It is not mandatory that you use this online service to apply for a handgun permit. You do have the option of submitting a paper application and paying in person at the Sheriff’s Office. By doing so, you will not be charged the convenience fee. However, you will also not receive the benefits of applying online, including the ability to check the status of your application and receiving email notifications concerning your application.


Gaining competency with firearms is like learning to drive a car or fly an airplane. You need expert instruction and practice. There is no shortcut. If you are not willing to invest the time and effort to become competent, then having a firearm and trying to use it can, in many instances, be more hazardous than any impending threat.

Effective December 1, 2015

North Carolina General Statute 14-404(e1) requires applicants to sign a release of court orders concerning mental health and capacity for pistol purchase permits.

At the end of this online order process, you can print your 'application packet'.  This packet contains your release form.

You may have it notarized and deliver it to the Sheriff's Office, or appear at the Sheriff's Office to have the form notarized.

Your application process will not begin until this final step has been completed.

Let's Get Started

Handgun Purchase Permit Requirements: must meet ALL requirements

Applicant Must:

  • be a citizen, a naturalized citizen or a resident alien;
  • be twenty-one (21) years of age;
  • have attained at least one month's residency in Union County;
  • at the time of pickup, provide a valid driver's license or other picture ID with current address provided by the State of North Carolina.

Please note that as part of the application process, you will authorize the Union County Clerk of Superior Court to inform the Sheriff of Union County whether or not the clerks’ records contain the record of any involuntary mental commitment proceeding under Article 5 of Chapter 122C of the General Statutes in which you have been named as a respondent. The purpose of this release is to enable the Sheriff to determine your qualification and competence to purchase and handle a handgun.

A permit to purchase a handgun has a processing cost of $5.00 (each). A convenience fee of $3.00 (per application) will also be charged for using the online application service.

For More Information, Contact:

Union County Sheriff's Office
3344 Presson Road
Monroe, NC 28112


For questions about your permit application:
Phone: 704-283-3789


For Technical Support, Contact:

Permitium Software
Phone: (855) 642-2453

NC General Statute 14-315.1: Storage of firearms to protect minors

(a) Any person who resides in the same premises as a minor, owns or possesses a firearm, and stores or leaves the firearm (i) in a condition that the firearm can be discharged and (ii) in a manner that the person knew or should have known that an unsupervised minor would be able to gain access to the firearm, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor if a minor gains access to the firearm without the lawful permission of the minor's parents or a person having charge of the minor and the minor:

  1. Possesses it in violation of G.S. 14-269.2(b);
  2. Exhibits it in a public place in a careless, angry, or threatening manner;
  3. Causes personal injury or death with it not in self defense; or
  4. Uses it in the commission of a crime.

(b) Nothing in this section shall prohibit a person from carrying a firearm on his or her body, or placed in such close proximity that it can be used as easily and quickly as if carried on the body.

(c) This section shall not apply if the minor obtained the firearm as a result of an unlawful entry by any person.

(d) "Minor" as used in this section means a person under 18 years of age who is not emancipated. (1993, c. 558, s. 2; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 14, s. 11.)